Sarah’s Pregnant! Time for Mocktails!

A Big HUE Announcement!

Hey everyone! This week I want to take a break from my normal event advice to share some big news in my life. For those of you who haven’t heard yet..

SARAH’S PREGNANT!

It’s true! Kevin and I have been excited to start a family for a little while now and are so thrilled to bring a new little one into the world at the end of March. We really have no idea what we’re getting ourselves in to, but we are taking things week by week and enjoying every moment. Take a look at our little beauty here!

picture1

(PS: We don’t know if it’s a boy or girl – so take your best guess!)

While I have truly enjoyed being pregnant, one of the lifestyle changes I’ve had to make is getting creative with my formerly beer-heavy happy hours. Luckily, the world of “mocktails” is an expansive one, and I’ve learned quite a bit over the past few months that I wanted to share for those of you who may be interested.

I recently enlisted the help of my cousin Tony, a bartender at the downtown spot Madisons, to help provide a few ideas. Both of these have been personally tested and approved, so give them a try!

Lavender Martini

pink-drink

1oz lavender
2oz lemonade
Lime juice
Soda

This is a classy drink that I could down a few of. The lavender/lime juice combination is tart enough to avoid gut rot, although the first ingredient may be hard to find at some bars. Bonus points to get it served in a fancy martini glass, Mad Men style!

Cherry Soirée

red-drink

2oz lemonade
.5oz cherry juice
.25oz vanilla
.25oz gomme
Shaken and double strained

If you have a sweet tooth, this one is for you. It gave me nostalgic feelings of drinking Shirley Temples or Vanilla Cokes at family parties when I was younger, yet still feeling like a grown up. It’s also more likely that these ingredients will be found at most bars, so drink up!

I would like to give a shout out to my lovely lady Corinne for joining me at this experimental happy hour, and once again to Tony, the mixologist behind it all. If you’re not in it for the mocktail game, Madisons also offers bottomless mimosas for $10 during brunch on the weekends.. which I plan to hit up come April.

Leave a Reply

